Heartbreaker

There’s a lot of songs and albums that, for some reason, are tied to seasons and weather in my head. Probably mostly based on what time of year the album came out, and if I wore it out. The slow tunes from Ben Folds Five’s Whatever And Ever Amen will alway remind me of cold, rainy days. Gin BlossomsNew Miserable Experience and Aerosmith’s Get A Grip of summer. Both OutKast’s Southernplayalisticadillacmuzik and ATLiens remind me of school starting back up. Radiohead’s Kid A, bitter winter.

Ryan Adams’ solo debut, Heartbreaker, always reminds me of weather as it is now. Crisp mornings, cool days. But, when the sun sets, turn on the heater in the car. Still remember when and where I was at when I picked up Heartbreaker. Walking through Best Buy on record release day, stumbled upon it. Was already a Whiskeytown devotee. Somehow didn’t know he had an album coming out. Just happened to be walking do the long aisle where it was located amongst thousands of other CDs. Total and complete happenstance.

Heartbreaker is in my top six of most played albums.* Since it’s this time of year, I pulled it off the shelf to throw in the car. As I was listening to it this go ‘round, realized something. When I was younger, a chunk of music was tethered to relationships. Either when they were good, or helping me along when they went bad. Half the Heartbreaker album is tied to one relationship or another. It got me to thinking, that doesn’t happen as much as I’ve gotten older. Now a trigger may pop up if I’m in a certain place, or a certain item happens into view. Even though it doesn’t really play out that way anymore, I can still tell you what song is tied to what person. Some, of which, hadn’t thought of for a decade or more.

So the question goes out to y’all: is there any music you love that feels connected to a certain season?

* The V-roysJust Add Ice is number one by a wide margin; Radiohead’s Kid A; Sigur RósTakk…; Clint Mansell, Kronos Quartet, and Mogwai’s The Fountain score; Max Richter’s Recomposed by Max Richter: Vivaldi – The Four Seasons.

Leave a Reply

